UCLA International Institute
Asia Institute

Advancing collaborative, interdisciplinary research on Asia worldwide

View Upcoming Events by Center

Asia Institute Events


Presentation by Motoyuki Shibata and Tomoka Shibasaki
Wednesday, March 04, 2015
7:00 PM
Japan Foundation LA,

Presentation by Cal Margulis
Thursday, March 05, 2015
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Bunche 11377

Opening reception and launch of exhibit
Thursday, March 05, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Powell Library Rotunda

Composing the Cosmos: Prayer, Poetics, and Cosmology in Ancient Japan presented by Prof. Bryan Lowe (Vanderbilt University)
Friday, March 06, 2015
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Royce 243

Mumbai is India’s financial and commercial capital. It is known for both its high real estate prices and large slum population.
Monday, March 09, 2015
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Bunche Hall 10383

Colloquium with Supeena Insee Adler and Christopher Adler
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

Edward Beneda, son of Glen Beneda, Flying Tigers pilot and subject of the film "Touching the Tigers"
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
2:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Charles E. Young Research Library

Thursday, March 12, 2015
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Bunche 11377

Taiwan Studies Lectureship Inaugural Forum
Friday, March 13, 2015
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
UCLA Faculty Center

Presentation by David Hanlon (University of Hawai'i at Manoa) and Duncan Ryuken Williams (USC)
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
UCLA Young Research Library Room TBA

Eurasian Empires Lecture by Rian Thum, Dept. of History, Loyola University, New Orleans
Thursday, April 02, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
10383 Bunche

Seongbin Hwang
Wednesday, April 08, 2015
Time to be announced

UCLA Korean Culture Night 2015
Thursday, April 09, 2015
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Royce Hall Auditorium

Talk by Martin Powers, University of Michigan
Thursday, April 09, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Bunche Hall 10383

Presentation by Marc Steinberg, Concordia University, Canada
Thursday, April 09, 2015
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
UCLA Royce Hall Room 243

Professors Stephen Epstein and Timothy Tangherlini
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Royce Hall 314

Afghan Studies Talk by Brian Glyn Williams, University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
1033 Bunche

Talk by Pieter Keulemans, Princeton University
Thursday, April 16, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

Afghan Studies Lecture by Mesrob George Vartavarian, USC
Monday, April 20, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
10383 Bunche

Presentation by Nathaniel Smith, University of Arizona
Thursday, April 23, 2015
4:00 PM
UCLA Bunche Hall Room 6275

Presentation by journalist Takashi Uemura
Friday, May 08, 2015
5:30 PM
Location TBA

Eurasian Empires Lecture with Stephane Dudoignon, EHSS, Paris
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Bunche 10383

Saturday, May 16, 2015
10:00 AM - 1:00 PM
UCLA Faculty Center, California Room

Saturday, May 16, 2015
1:15 PM - 4:00 PM
UCLA Faculty Center, California Room